Free LLM APIs you can use commercially

Free LLM API tiers that permit production/commercial use — not restricted to evaluation. Verified against each provider’s terms.

Free tiers that allow commercial/production use (commercial_ok: true). Eval-only tiers (Cohere trial keys, NVIDIA NIM) are deliberately excluded — read their rows in the main list for the restriction.

25 of 68 tracked providers match.

ProviderTypeWhat's freeThe catchVerified
Google Gemini API (AI Studio)
no cardno phonecommercial OKOpenAI-compat
OngoingGemini 2.5 Flash, 2.5 Flash-Lite, 2.5 Pro (limited), embeddings, TTS modelsFree-tier prompts/outputs may be used by Google to improve its products outside the UK/CH/EEA/EU. Since the 2026-03-23 terms, only Paid Services may serve API clients to end users in the EEA/CH/UK 2026-10-08
Groq
no cardphonecommercial OKOpenAI-compat
OngoingOpen-weight models (GPT-OSS, Qwen) plus Whisper, no credit card requiredLimits apply at the organization level, not per API key. Phone verification required at signup 2026-10-08
OpenRouter
no cardno phonecommercial OKOpenAI-compat
OngoingA rotating set of models with a :free suffix (16 on 2026-10-08; count fluctuates), single API across many providersToS (Jul 2026) prohibits reselling API access or building a competing service — platform-wide, not just the free models; per-model terms still apply 2026-10-08
Cloudflare Workers AI
no cardno phonecommercial OKOpenAI-compat
Ongoing10,000 Neurons/day, all account plansResets daily at 00:00 UTC; overage on a Workers Paid plan bills at $0.011/1,000 Neurons. A few models (e.g. Kimi K2.6/K2.7-code, GLM-5.2) now require a Workers Paid plan 2026-10-08
Cerebras
cardcommercial OKOpenAI-compat
Trial$5 in free credits for new accounts, usable across all public modelsA verified payment method is required to activate Playground/API access (no charge until you buy credits). Credits expire 30 days after grant; whether any free access persists past expiry is not stated 2026-10-08
Z.ai (Zhipu AI / GLM)
no cardno phonecommercial OKOpenAI-compat
OngoingGLM-4.5-Flash, GLM-4.7-Flash (text), and GLM-4.6V-Flash (vision) are officially listed as $0 cost (input, cached input, and output) on a permanent basisTerms of Use prohibit using Z.ai to "develop, train, or enhance any algorithms, models, or technologies that directly or indirectly compete with us" — otherwise general use, including commercial, isn't restricted 2026-10-08
Nebius AI Studio
cardno phonecommercial OKOpenAI-compat
Trial$1 trial credit, valid for 30 daysProduct renamed to "Nebius Token Factory"; a bank card is required to set up billing 2026-10-08
NLP Cloud
cardno phonecommercial OK
Trial$15 trial creditCorrected: the official registration page does not ask for a phone number, contradicting the earlier listing 2026-10-08
SambaNova Cloud
commercial OKOpenAI-compat
OngoingRate-limited free tier (applies when no payment method is linked) across the models listed in the Free Tier tableFree Tier applies when no payment method is linked to the account; SambaCloud ToS grants a commercial license (no evaluation-only clause). The previously-listed "$5 / 3 months" trial could not be re-confirmed on official pages (2026-07-30). card_required is unconfirmed because SambaNova's own pages disagree (read 2026-10-08): the rate-limits doc (https://docs.sambanova.ai/docs/en/models/rate-limits) says "Free Tier: Applied when there is no payment method linked with your account", while the plans page (https://cloud.sambanova.ai/plans) says "Add a payment method and purchase credits to run your first requests". Settling it needs a real signup, which is not done without the Owner's OK. The rate-limits doc (read 2026-10-09) also lists two preview models on the Free Tier at the same 20 RPM / 20 RPD / 200,000 TPD (DeepSeek-V3.2, gemma-4-31B-it), described there as having limited capacity and removable at short notice; they are not in models_free. 2026-10-09
Jina AI
no cardno phonecommercial OKOpenAI-compat
Trial10M free tokens (one-time) across all models — embeddings, rerankers, classifier; plus a keyless Reader (r.jina.ai) for basic useThe 10M-token balance is a one-time grant that does not replenish; the keyless Reader is genuinely ongoing. Hosted API is commercial-OK and data is not used for training. No card required. 2026-10-08
Deepgram
no cardno phonecommercial OK
Trial$200 free credit on signup (no card, no expiration) — Nova speech-to-text and Aura text-to-speech at pay-as-you-go ratesNo card and no expiration on the credit. Data catch: the Model Improvement Program is opt-OUT — send mip_opt_out=true per request to keep your data out of training. Native REST/WebSocket API, not OpenAI-compatible. 2026-10-08
AssemblyAI
no cardno phonecommercial OKOpenAI-compat
Trial$50 free credit on signup (no card) — pre-recorded & streaming speech-to-text, Speech Understanding, and an OpenAI-compatible LLM Gateway (25+ models)One-time credit, not renewing. Catch: the default model differs between free and paid accounts — set speech_models explicitly to avoid cost jumps on upgrade. Only the LLM Gateway is OpenAI-compatible. 2026-10-08
Mixedbread
no cardno phonecommercial OK
TrialStarter plan: $5 one-time credit (no card) — embeddings (mxbai-embed-large-v1), reranking, and multimodal search over PDF/image/doc/codeFree credit is usage-based and non-renewing; usage-based pricing applies afterward. Native REST API, not documented as OpenAI-compatible. No card required. 2026-10-08
Ollama Cloud
no phonecommercial OKOpenAI-compat
Ongoing$0 Free plan: starter amount of cloud usage credits, limited to a smaller set of starter models; buying credits unlocks all cloud modelsFirst-party — Ollama hosts the cloud models. Requires an ollama.com account + API key. The old 5-hour session / weekly limits are gone: usage is now credit-based with a monthly reset; Pro ($20/mo) includes $60 of credits. Prompts/responses are not logged or trained on. Whether a card is required is not stated on the current pricing page. 2026-10-08
Runware
no cardno phonecommercial OK
Trial$2 in free credits for new users who sign up with a business email, usable on the Models API (image, video, audio, LLM and 3D models) on the Sonic Inference EngineThe $2 requires signup with a business email; no credit card required. Commercial use of Outputs is allowed, subject to each model's licence (Partner Models are cleared for commercial use by Runware). Third-party provider models are subject to those providers' own rate limits. 2026-10-08
OCR.space
no cardno phonecommercial OK
Ongoing25,000 conversions/month (Engine 1 & 2) plus 1,000 Engine 3 conversions/month; max 1 MB file, PDFs up to 3 pagesFree searchable-PDF output carries a watermark (raw text extraction is unrestricted); the free key needs only an email, no card. Commercial use permitted. 2026-10-08
LlamaParse (LlamaCloud)
no cardno phonecommercial OK
OngoingFree plan: 10,000 credits/month (up to ~10,000 pages at the cheapest parse tier, as low as 1 credit/page)Credit-based (1,000 credits = $1.25); premium parse modes consume more credits per page. No card required. Document parsing for RAG (LlamaIndex). 2026-10-08
Nanonets
no cardno phonecommercial OK
Trial$50 in free credits on signup (one-time) across data-extraction / OCR workflowsOne-time signup credit, not renewing (credits never expire); no credit card required to start. Paid plans start at $100/month afterwards. 2026-10-08
Speechify API
no cardno phonecommercial OK
Ongoing500K characters/month TTS (hard cap; pauses until next month), catalog voices, streaming and SSMLCommercial use is allowed on the free tier. No credit card required. Free cannot top up and pauses when the monthly balance runs out. Voice cloning is paid-plan only; voice agents are now an enterprise-only product (no free minutes). 2026-10-08
Unreal Speech
no cardcommercial OK
Ongoing250,000 characters/month TTS (~6 hours of audio)Commercial use allowed, but free-plan users must attribute Unreal Speech with a link when publishing audio. First-party REST endpoints. No credit card required. 2026-10-08
Sarvam AI
commercial OKOpenAI-compat
Trial₹100 in free credits on signup, usable across any API including chat completion (Sarvam-105B) and speech (STT/TTS); credits never expireOne-time signup credit shared across all APIs; credits never expire. Sarvam-M has been deprecated (use Sarvam-105B). Signup credits carry commercial production rights for generated Output. Card/phone requirement not stated in the docs. The docs list limits per plan but do not say explicitly that free-credit accounts are on Starter. India-focused provider (pricing in INR), strong Indic-language models. 2026-10-08
Upstage
no cardcommercial OKOpenAI-compat
Trial$10 free credit on sign-up (per Upstage's Getting Started docs) for the API — Solar LLM (chat + embeddings) plus Document Parse / OCR / information extraction; Studio document agents include 10 free runs eachThe Solar Pro 4 free window (2026-08-05 to 2026-08-11) has ended; standard pricing is $0.30 input / $1.20 output per 1M tokens from 2026-10-11 (UTC), after a 70%-off phase that runs until 2026-10-10. Beyond the signup credit, API use is pay-per-use, with prepaid commitment tiers from $100/mo adding bonus credit and higher limits. Studio agent runs need no card. A separate institutional grant (up to 1 year of free Solar Pro + Document Parse) exists for eligible schools, hospitals and nonprofits only. Solar Pro 2/3 and Solar Mini are deprecated on 2026-10-30 (KST). 2026-10-08
Veryfi
no cardcommercial OK
OngoingFree Forever plan: up to 100 documents/month — OCR plus structured data extraction (receipts, invoices, and 100+ document types)No credit card required. The 'Free Forever' 100 docs/mo tier is the standing free tier (a separate 14-day trial unlocks paid features). Proprietary OCR / document-intelligence REST API. 2026-10-08
W&B Inference
no cardcommercial OKOpenAI-compat
TrialServerless Inference credits on the Free plan "for a limited time" (amount not published); Free accounts have a default spending cap of $100/monthW&B Inference is now documented as CoreWeave Forge Serverless Inference (docs.wandb.ai redirects to docs.coreweave.com). The $100/month figure is a default spending cap, not a stated free-credit amount. When credits run out, Free accounts must activate pay-as-you-go on the Billing tab or upgrade; CoreWeave requires prepayment for paid access. Available only from supported geographic locations. OpenAI-compatible endpoint at api.inference.wandb.ai/v1; API keys are created at forge.coreweave.com. The pricing page lists "$5/mo free credit for a limited time" only under Pro and "Billed monthly" under Free, so the Free amount is unclear. 2026-10-08
Typhoon (SCB 10X)
no cardno phonecommercial OKOpenAI-compat
OngoingFree to use research showcase API — all Typhoon models at $0By SCB 10X, the venture arm of Siam Commercial Bank, focused on Thai-language models. The free catalog spans LLMs (typhoon-v2.5-30b-a3b-instruct), OCR (typhoon-ocr family) and realtime Thai ASR (typhoon-asr-realtime, typhoon-isan-asr-realtime) — the hosted API is OpenAI-compatible, including audio transcriptions. Beta, provided as-is with no formal support; usage data is collected to improve the model; SCB claims no rights in outputs. Sign up for a free API key at opentyphoon.ai. 2026-10-08

FAQ

Which free LLM APIs allow commercial use?

Every provider on this page permits commercial/production use on its free tier (`commercial_ok: true`), confirmed against its own terms. Evaluation-only tiers are excluded.

Is a free tier safe to ship to production?

Check the rate limits and whether the free tier is renewing or a one-time credit — both are on each provider’s row. For steady load, a renewing free tier or a paid plan is safer than a trial credit.

Related guides