Free AI coding tools

Coding tools that say they have a free plan. Apart from the ranking, and every value written only where the tool's own page says it.

What each tool says about free access

This is a separate list from the free LLM APIs: these are tools you code with, not hosted model APIs. It is not part of the ranking and no count, score or collection of the site includes it. Each value below is written only when the tool's own page says it, with the sentence and the day it was read; otherwise it reads Not stated, which is never the same as no. Each row shows the day its page was read.

8 tools listed; 16 of 48 values rest on a sentence from the tool's own page.

GitHub Copilot Free · IDE extension

Free access
Stated by the tool's page

“This plan includes limited access to a selection of Copilot features allowing you to try AI-powered coding assistance at no cost.”

Limits
Stated by the tool's page

“Limited to 2000 completions per month on Copilot Free.”

“On Copilot Free and Copilot Student plans, access to models is available through auto model selection only.”

Card required
Not stated
Commercial use
Not stated
Expiry
Not stated
What it does with your code
Not stated

Amazon Q Developer Free Tier · IDE extension

Free access
Stated by the tool's page

“Amazon Q Developer offers a perpetual Free Tier with monthly limits available to users logged in as an AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) user or AWS Builder ID user.”

Limits
Stated by the tool's page

“Included agentic requests (Q&A chat, agentic coding) 50 agentic requests per month”

“Amazon Q Developer Free Tier users can upgrade 1,000 LOC per month, per user.”

Card required
Not stated
Commercial use
Not stated
Expiry
Not stated
What it does with your code
Not stated

JetBrains AI Free · IDE extension

Free access
Stated by the tool's page

“AI Free Free 3 AI credits per 30-days”

“The AI Free license tier is not available in Community Editions of PyCharm and IntelliJ IDEA, as well as in PyCharm Unified when used for free.”

Limits
Stated by the tool's page

“AI Free Free 3 AI credits per 30-days”

Card required
Not stated
Commercial use
Not stated
Expiry
Not stated
What it does with your code
Not stated

Cursor Free · editor

Free access
Stated by the tool's page

“Free $0 /month Get started Get started with: Limited AI usage AI Features Limited agent requests Limited Chat requests”

Limits
Stated by the tool's page

“Free $0 /month Get started Get started with: Limited AI usage AI Features Limited agent requests Limited Chat requests”

“Your allowance refreshes weekly, so one heavy day never wipes out your whole month.”

Card required
Not stated
Commercial use
Not stated
Expiry
Not stated
What it does with your code
Not stated Context quoted from the page:

“Privacy mode can be enabled in settings or by a team admin. When it is enabled, we guarantee that code data is not used for training by us or our model providers.”

Google Antigravity (Individual plan) · editor

Free access
Stated by the tool's page

“For Individuals $0/month Experience Antigravity without a subscription plan Get started Plan includes: Access to a variety of agent models”

Limits
Stated by the tool's page

“Access to a variety of agent models Unlimited Tab completions Unlimited Command requests Basic weekly rate limits *”

Card required
Not stated
Commercial use
Not stated
Expiry
Not stated
What it does with your code
Not stated

Kiro Free · editor

Free access
Stated by the tool's page

“New users can start with the perpetual Kiro Free tier, which includes 50 credits.”

Limits
Stated by the tool's page

“The Free Tier includes access to open weight models and Claude Sonnet 4.5, with limits.”

“Access is subject to rate limits .”

Card required
Not stated
Commercial use
Not stated
Expiry
Not stated
What it does with your code
Not stated

TRAE Free · editor

Free access
Stated by the tool's page

“Free $0 Start for free Auto mode only Limited usage Limited Autocomplete”

Limits
Stated by the tool's page

“Free $0 Start for free Auto mode only Limited usage Limited Autocomplete”

Card required
Not stated
Commercial use
Not stated
Expiry
Not stated
What it does with your code
Not stated

Devin Desktop Free (formerly Windsurf) · editor

Free access
Stated by the tool's page

“The Free plan includes a light quota to code with agents, limited model availability, unlimited inline edits, and unlimited Tab completions.”

Limits
Stated by the tool's page

“The Free plan includes a light quota to code with agents, limited model availability, unlimited inline edits, and unlimited Tab completions.”

Card required
Not stated
Commercial use
Not stated
Expiry
Not stated
What it does with your code
Not stated

Worth knowing

Gemini CLI free tier replaced

Gemini CLI's own quota page (geminicli.com, last updated 2026-06-18) says the unpaid tier was replaced by Antigravity CLI on 2026-06-18, while the Gemini CLI README read the same day still advertises the free tier. Not listed as an entry.

“Unpaid tier (Gemini Code Assist for individuals) and Google One users only : Gemini CLI and Gemini Code Assist IDE extensions were replaced by Antigravity CLI and Antigravity on June 18th 2026.”

“Unpaid tier and Google One users: Gemini CLI was replaced by Antigravity CLI on June 18th, 2026.”

Windsurf renamed

The Windsurf site now says Devin Desktop is the new name for Windsurf; the free plan quoted in the entry is from the Devin pricing page.

“Devin Desktop is the new name for Windsurf.”

Tools you connect your own key to

The tool is free; inference is paid with your own key or a free API. See also: OpenAI-compatible free APIs; the interactive explorer. The same rule holds: a value is written only where the tool's own page says it, and Not stated is never no.

3 tools listed; 4 of 18 values rest on a sentence from the tool's own page.

Zed (Personal plan, own API keys) · editor

Free access
Stated by the tool's page

“Personal $0 forever The next-generation code editor. Free forever. Unlimited use with your API keys or external agents like Claude Agent, Codex CLI, and more”

“Since Zed is open source, these controls govern Zed's hosted services specifically.”

Limits
Stated by the tool's page

“Unlimited use with your API keys or external agents like Claude Agent, Codex CLI, and more”

Card required
Not stated
Commercial use
Not stated
Expiry
Not stated
What it does with your code
Not stated

Cline (open source) · IDE extension

Free access
Stated by the tool's page

“The Cline open source extension is completely free for individual developers.”

“You can bring your own API keys or use the Cline provider.”

Limits
Not stated
Card required
Not stated
Commercial use
Not stated
Expiry
Not stated
What it does with your code
Not stated

goose · command-line tool

Free access
Stated by the tool's page

“your native open source AI agent — desktop app, CLI, and API — for code, workflows, and everything in between”

“Use API keys or your existing Claude, ChatGPT, or Gemini subscriptions via [ACP]”

Limits
Not stated
Card required
Not stated
Commercial use
Not stated
Expiry
Not stated
What it does with your code
Not stated

Looking for hosted LLM APIs instead? See the main list. To add or correct a value, open an issue with the tool's own page.